Home Contact Us Français
News Article

Ottawa and Dollard-des-Ormeaux win 18U National Club Championships

The Ottawa Titans and Dollard Water Polo won the men’s and women’s 18U National Club Championships water polo titles on Sunday.

Men's tournament

In men’s competition, Euan Scoffield scored five goals to lead the Titans to a 7-4 victory over Vancouver’s Pacific Storm.  Scoffield, also the tournament MVP, scored four of his goals in the second quarter as the Titans took control of the match with a 5-1 lead at the half.

“It feels really great to be the new champions,’’ said Titans captain Yorek Hurrelmann. ‘’We saw video to figure out the type of game the Storm were playing and we adjusted to that. Luckily for us, they kept a similar style. We kept dropping back to the empty space that we were expecting them to drive into and that worked to our advantage.’’

Victor Gomeluk and Filip Matic were the other marksmen for the victors.  Sean Spooner with two and Sever Topan and Giordano Marconator with one apiece replied for Pacific Storm which led 1-0 after eight minutes.

In the bronze medal game, Paul Bucheff and Aria Soleimane scored four goals apiece as the defending champion Calgary Torpedoes edged Montreal’s CAMO 11-10.  Bucheff notched the winner with only 30 seconds left in regulation time.

St-Lambert Water Polo was fifth, Dollard Water Polo sixth, the Toronto Mavericks seventh, Fraser Valley eighth, Ottawa Hammer ninth, Edmonton Tsunami 10th, Team Manitoba 11th and a second Dollard team 12th.

The tournament all-star team members were Spooner, Soleimane, Bilal Talah of CAMO, Marc-André Roy of Dollard, Duncan Kennedy of the Titans and Lee Walker of Team Manitoba.  Samuel Reiher of St-Lambert was the most valuable goalie and Jerry Tesanovic of the Titans the most valuable coach.

Women's tournament

The women’s final went to a shootout with Dollard defeating cross-town rival and defending champion CAMO 10-8. CAMO overcame two-goal deficits three-times to send the match tied 7-7 after regulation.

Tandis Cumming,  Kelly Matthews and Kimberley Watson scored in the shootout for Dollard. In regulation, Cumming and Joelle Nacouzi scored two apiece for the winners with singles to Watson, Matthews and Erica Hardy.

‘’It feels amazing to get the title, we worked really hard for this,’’ said Dollard team captain Taylor Vijh.  ‘’Our communication through the final today was very strong.  We knew it was going to be a tough game but we kept pushing.’’

Axelle Crevier, the tournament MVP,  led CAMO with three while Elena Barri, Chayma Hlanadif, Mathilde Ribordi and Zoé Falardeau had one goal each.  Crevier also scored in the shootout.

In the bronze medal game Alison Wolf scored three goals as the Calgary Renegades defeated Team Saskatchewan 11-6.

Pacific Storm placed fifth, the Mavericks sixth, Fraser Valley seventh, Team Manitoba eighth, St-Lambert ninth, Kitchener-Waterloo 10th, Ottawa Hammer 11th, Capital Wave from Ottawa 12th, Dollard Water Polo 2 13th and CAMO Blanc 14th.

The tournament all-star team members were Nacouzi, Matthews, Kindred Paul of the Renegades, Hayley McKelvey of Pacific Storm, Emma Wright of the Mavericks and Amy Yule of Team Saskatchewan. Alicia Magliocco and Andrew Robinson of the winning Dollard team were the most valuable goalie and most valuable coach.

The competition attracted more than 400 players with the tournament split at two venues.  The men competed at Université Laval and the women at Piscine Sylvie-Bernier.

Complete results

Men’s schedule and results: see here

Women’s schedule and results: see here



Explore Water Polo Canada
Team Canada Bios
Senior Men's National Team
Senior Women's National Team
NCL Overview
LTAD Overview
ILWP Overview
About Water Polo Canada
Contact Directory
History of Water Polo in Canada
Frequently Asked Questions
Policies and Bylaws
Quick Links
Become a Coach
Travel Partners
Manuals, Guides and Rules
Basic Rules
Database User Guides