Home Contact Us Français
News Article

NDPL season’s final crowns a perfect run for Pacific Storm

British Columbian
water polo club Pacific Storm completed a perfect season (28 wins, 0 losses, 0 ties) with a gold-medal performance in the National Development Premier League (NDPL) final against solid competitor Gattawa (Gatineau-Ottawa combined) on Sunday, May 25.

In defending their 2013 championship, Storm outplayed Gattawa during most of the game, but still failed to capitalize on two penalty shots. In addition, a strong late-game challenge by the Eastern team kept things exciting and contributed to the close final score; Storm 10, Gattawa 9.

 “We were eager to play Gattawa after our loss to them at the 18U National Club Championship final. They are a great team, but we had worked too hard and wanted this championship too much not to win," said league MVP Sean Spooner. Storm Captain and the league’s Most Valuable Defender Gaelan Patterson added: “The NDPL style and final is what we have been training for all year. We knew we could win. We just had to prove it,” he continued.  

“I am very proud of these players,” said Storm Head Coach Nikola Maric, who was also named NDPL Most Valuable Coach. “It has been a long season. Staying focused and finishing with a solid win was all I could ask. We stuck with our game and it paid off,” he said.

In the other final, for the league’s 3rd and 4th spots, CAMO registered a dominant 20-4 win over Team Manitoba.

For their outstanding performances over the weekend, Gattawa’s Duncan Kennedy and Pacific Storm’s Simon Wu were respectively named MVP and Most Valuable Goalie in the finals.

The 2014 NDPL playoff and final was hosted by CAMO at Complexe Sportif Claude-Robillard in Montreal. This was the second NDPL Championship win for Pacific Storm in the league’s three years of operations as part of the Men’s National Team development strategy. This year however marks the end of the NDPL as Water Polo Canada now enters a new league structure. The clubs were particularly appreciative of the professional organization and function maintained by Commissioner Cora Campbell over the three successful NDPL seasons. Special thanks were also expressed to the organizers who put together a perfect final and ended the NDPL in such a special and significant manner.

See detailed results for the 2013-2014 season and finals.

NDPL Awards

Immediately following the final game on Sunday, the teams gathered for a banquet and award ceremony. Delegate David Hart and Water Polo Canada’s Executive Director Martin Goulet were on hand to present the awards.

The following players were named to the 2013-2014 NDPL All-Star Team:
  • Aria Soleimani, Calgary Torpedoes
  • Euan Scoffield, Gattawa
  • Sever Topan, Pacific Storm
  • Byron Huang, Fraser Valley
  • Lee Walker, Manitoba
  • Duncan Kennedy, Gattawa
  • Victor Gomeluk, Gattawa
  • Bilel Talah, CAMO
  • Pavle Kotarec, Mavericks
  • Ryan Boyd, DDO
Individual awards

Top Scorer
Pavle Kotarec, Mavericks (110 goals)

Sean Spooner, Pacific Storm

MV Defender    
Gaelan Patterson, Pacific Storm

MV Goalie        
Yorek Hurrelmann, Gattawa
MV Coach        
Nikola Maric, Pacific Storm



Explore Water Polo Canada
Team Canada Bios
Senior Men's National Team
Senior Women's National Team
NCL Overview
LTAD Overview
ILWP Overview
About Water Polo Canada
Contact Directory
History of Water Polo in Canada
Frequently Asked Questions
Policies and Bylaws
Quick Links
Become a Coach
Travel Partners
Manuals, Guides and Rules
Basic Rules
Database User Guides