Home Contact Us Fran├žais
News Article

Water Polo Canada welcomes two new Board members after 2018 AGM

(Ottawa, ON – August 1, 2018) Water Polo Canada (WPC) has confirmed the composition of its Board of Directors (BOD) following the federation’s Annual General Meeting weekend held from June 15 -17, 2018 in Toronto, Ontario. On June 16th, WPC also held its Board election with seven positions (six directors and one vice-president) to be filled.

Ms. Josée Lanouette was confirmed in her second term as Vice President of the Board. Entering her eighth year on the Water Polo Canada Board, Josée Lanouette will be chairing many committees including Business Development and Risk Management.

Six director positions were up for election, according to the board’s revolving schedule, and saw two returning board members acclaimed in their positions: Ms. Kathleen Dawson (Manitoba) and Mr. Kevin Freedman (Manitoba). Additionally, two new directors were elected to the WPC Board;

Mr. Teddy Katz, from Oakville, Ontario newly joins the group for a two-year term. Mr. Katz has been engaged in the Canadian Sport System for many years. After nearly 20 years as a reporter for Canadian Broadcasting Corporation , he served as the Chief Spokesperson and Director of Media Relations for the 2015 TORONTO Pan Am/Para Pan Am Games. Mr. Katz is currently the Vice president, Communications and Media Relations, at SHAD, and his experience and insights will be great additions to the Board of Directors.

Finally, Mr. Jared Gillespie from Kitchener, Ontario, is also joining the WPC Board as a Director (two-year term). Mr. Gillespie has a demonstrated passion for athletics and coached youth sports in Toronto, Kitchener and Windsor before his appointment to the BOD, His experience as a corporate lawyer will be a valuable asset to the WPC Board and our Canadian Water Polo community at large.

As new directors, Mr. Teddy Katz and Mr. Jared Gillespie will be joining the other members of the Water Polo Canada board in their role of overseeing the Federation’s policies, budget, and strategic plan, as well as contributing to specific portfolios.

Current WPC Board of Directors as of June 16, 2018:


Conrad Hadubiak (Saskatchewan)

Vice President:
Josée Lanouette (Quebec)

Kevin Freedman (Manitoba), Kathleen Dawson (Manitoba), Paul Fritz-Nemeth (Ontario), Ariane Clavet-Gaumont (Quebec), Teddy Katz (Ontario), Jared Gillespie (Ontario). There are two vacant director positions.



Explore Water Polo Canada
Team Canada Bios
Senior Men's National Team
Senior Women's National Team
NCL Overview
LTAD Overview
ILWP Overview
About Water Polo Canada
Contact Directory
History of Water Polo in Canada
Frequently Asked Questions
Policies and Bylaws
Quick Links
Become a Coach
NCL Travel Partners
Manuals, Guides and Rules
Basic Rules
Database User Guides