Home Contact Us Français
News Article

Water Polo Canada announces Men’s National Team selection for 2019 UANA Cup

(Montreal, QC, January 9, 2019) – Water Polo Canada has announced the 14 players that will travel to Sao Paulo, Brazil for the upcoming UANA Cup January 22nd to 27th, 2019. The UANA Water Polo Cup serves as qualification for the 2019 FINA World Aquatics Championships in Gwangju, South Korea. The top two teams from the men and women’s category will earn their spot for the 2019 World Championships.

This competition marks the return with the national team of two prominent Canadian players, Justin Boyd and Devon Diggle. The 2008 Olympians will join Canada’s ranks for the first time since 2016 and 2013 respectively. The two West Islanders combine many years of international experience, and along with the other veteran players, they will bring valuable leadership to this promising Canadian squad. The men’s national team will start its preparation for the UANA Cup with a four-day training camp with the US National Team in California from January 15th to 19th, 2019.

“The guys have been training very hard in Montreal, and I’m satisfied with their current level of play. The athletes playing in Europe had the opportunity to play a lot of games, and their experience will certainly help us reach our goal. There will be an adjustment period during the pre-competition training camp in Los Angeles where we will assess the level of the team before the tournament. We will focus on getting the athletes mentally and physically ready for the competition. The UANA Cup will be a competitive tournament, with most teams having a chance at qualification for the 2019 World Championships in South Korea.” indicated Head Coach Pino Porzio.

Canada will start its tournament against Brazil, January 22nd at 6:30 pm (local time). Here is the selection for the 2019 UANA Cup:

Men’s National Team



Dusan Aleksic

Gatineau, QC

Justin Boyd

Beaconsfield, QC

Nicolas Constantin-Bicari

Montreal, QC

Jérémie Côté

Montreal, QC

Reuel D’Souza

Port Coquitlam, BC

Devon Diggle

Pierrefonds, QC

Bogdan Djerkovic

Ottawa, ON

Aleksa Gardijan

Gatineau, QC

David Lapins

Gatineau, QC

Gaelan Patterson

North Vancouver, BC

Milan Radenovic

Toronto, ON

Sean Spooner

Port Coquitlam, BC

Devon Thumwood

Calgary, AB

George Torakis

Montreal, QC


Men’s National Team – Staff

  • Head Coach: Giuseppe “Pino” Porzio
  • Assistant Coach: Brian Parillo
  • Assistant Coach/Video Analyst: Francesco Rizzo
  • High Performance Director/Team Leader: Justin Oliveira
  • Physiotherapist: Felix Croteau
  • Referee: Doriel Terpenka


  • January 22: Brazil vs Canada – 6:30 PM Local / 3:30 PM EST
  • January 23: Canada vs Argentina – 5:15 PM Local / 2:15 PM EST
  • January 24: Canada vs USA – 5:15 PM Local / 2:15 PM EST
  • January 25: Semi-finals – (M7) 2nd vs 3rd 5:15 PM Local / (M8) 1st vs 4th 6:30 PM Local
  • January 26: Final -   2:30 PM Local / 11:30 AM EST


Explore Water Polo Canada
Team Canada Bios
Senior Men's National Team
Senior Women's National Team
NCL Overview
LTAD Overview
ILWP Overview
About Water Polo Canada
Contact Directory
History of Water Polo in Canada
Frequently Asked Questions
Policies and Bylaws
Quick Links
Become a Coach
Travel Partners
Manuals, Guides and Rules
Basic Rules
Database User Guides